top of page

Basketball Programs Outshined by #1 Ranked Wii Bowling Team


During halftime of the men's basketball game against Kansas State earlier this year, junior Donte Jones bowled a near perfect game of Wii Bowling. If you dipped out at the half to grab Chick-fil-A, you may have missed Jones's unconscious performance, but you definitely heard him shout "Who do you think you are? I am!" as he knocked down his final ten pins. "I could really feel the energy in the stadium, so the spare in the second frame didn't shake me. I'll take a 280 any day." Jones told The Golden Seagull, "As captain of the new Wii Bowling e-sports team on campus I need to be a leader on and off the lanes, so I don't usually let my emotions show through."

The Marquette team is currently a perfect 12-0, and poised to make a deep NCAA tournament run. Jones went on to say, "The NCAA Wii Bowling tournament was the third largest televised event of 2018 behind only the Super Bowl and a rerun of The Office episode 'Stress Relief'. The fans really get into it too, they love to chant 'We are Marquette' and 'D-D-D-Defense' for some reason."

When asked how he'd fair in a real game of bowling down at the Annex, Jones kept repeating that he hadn't touched a bowling ball "since the accident".

Latest News
bottom of page